At Golden Pond

The colors of Floridian Falls are not as grand as the north, but every once in a while, if you are looking, you will catch a golden hue glistening thru the trees lines and reminding us that it too will be cooler here and we might have to find a coat. I have been working on an impressionistic series set in the Florida landscape. Behind a Traders Joe’s store, we learn to look in all kinds of places, everyday places. I have been working on using the camera like a Pleine Aire painter and trying to use the camera and motion to create subtle and sometimes bold brush strokes. There is a mood in this one that I like. The sky was cloudy and about to rain, but that lent itself to some exciting light.

I am rather new to ICM. I am also working on visual storytelling skills.

Specific Feedback Requested

I will include the before and after screenshots in a comment. I want to train my eye for that subtle edge of over-the-top editing and just right. Balance and artistic personality. So if you have any feedback, I would like to hear it.

Technical Details

Canon R5 +
70 - 200 mm 2.8 L IS (USM)
1/4 sec
@ f/20
ISO 100
70 mm
WB 6000

Edited in Lightroom, General tweaks to basic

Highlights -41
Shadows +22
Whites -18
Blacks -18
Texture - 67
Clarity -22
Dehaze 0
Vibrance - 0
Saturation 0

The histogram was pretty balanced, so I left the tone curve alone.
Removed some distractions on the borders with the healing and darkened a lighter area on an edge that was drawing the eye.
HSL/ Color sliders - Some Minor adjustments in the Saturation and Luminance
Vignette -16

Before and After Screenshot

I lost a little Pop of light when I look at them on this site. That the original SOOC shot had.

Ariel,

First of all, WELCOME to NPN! Great to have you join us here and we look forward to more from you!

You mention you’re fairly new to ICM - and I’d say you’re off to a great start.