Common Yellowthroat in a cattail tangle

Greetings, please accept my apologies for introducing myself and posting an image for critique at the same time. I only just discovered the introduction area of the forum, but I’d already (finally) determined to post an image for critique. As for the introduction, I’m a nature-obsessed fisheries biologist in northwest Montana. I’m mad about all things natural—small to large. I grew up in small timber, ranching, and tourist town, went to graduate school, and all along thought that a worthy goal was to be a naturalist with credentials. So, I’m as surprised as anyone that I’ve made most of a career of it.

As for photography, I’ve been rather obsessed for a few years, and always enthusiastic, so I suppose that makes me an enthusiast. I’ve finally taken the leap to submit an image because a friend would like a print of the attached photo, so I thought this one was as good as any to start with. I’ve long-contemplated seeking advice on some black and white images, but those will have to wait.

Specific Feedback Requested

I would greatly appreciate any and all input. Feel no need to hold back; I’ve a thick skin, and I’m wide open to learning and have a lot to learn.

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
I shot the image out the window of my pickup blind with a Nikon D7500 and a NIKKOR 200-500 mm F5.6 lens. Settings were aperture priority: ISO 280; 500 mm; f/6.3; 1/500 sec; EV+0.7. It’s relatively heavily cropped, I did some dodging and burning in Lightroom, and removed a distracting, darkish background cattail (that was in front of the bird) using the spot removal feature. I attempted to tone down some highlights that appeared blown out, but I think that I was rather unsuccessful. I also experimented and put the image through Topaz DeNoise.

1 Like