Correcting Midday Contrast

Photographed in Tanzania. Came across this Golden jackal feasting alone whilst 9 vultures watched ( each 3 times its size! )
Until this Ruppell’s Griffon vulture decided to challenge

Edit 1 - I dont know what got into me - I guess i tried to do too much and messed up. Started from scratch and came up with this. Any better? And yes, if you still want the original raw file, I can post

Edit 2 (E3) - Thanks a lot Lyle @Lyle_Gruby, @Keith_Bauer and @Dennis_Plank - that was a lot of work on your part
I am very new to TK7 and use it only when I want to practice something - at least until I get more proficient at it. That said, I tried to replicate both methods with my own twist. This one is 95% Keiths. I did add a little dehaze to vulture’s R wing and lowered the whites at the base of the neck
Since i wanted to stick to PSA guidelines for this particular image, I did not clone or add a vignette
Now, Keith, what made you take the steps you chose ? this may be beyond the scope of this discussion, I understand. Any reference for reading ?
Lyle - I particularly liked your idea of White and Black points usage for the WB - thanks

What technical feedback would you like if any?

I have tried to correct the midday contrast and am wondering if anybody has a method to correcting this. I have winged it a few times and this is my latest

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If backgrounds have been removed, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)
Nikon D810, Nikon 300mm F 2.8

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

Probably helpful if you would post the original unmodified version of the image to see what we’ve got to work with (a jpeg obviously). It’s pretty hard to tell where to go. This one’s not working very well I’m sad to say.