E187 Discussion - Tara Workman

Last week on the podcast we had on Tara Workman - she’s a “hobbiest” photographer living in Portland. She has a great eye! We talked about the advantages of being a hobbiest and how that has informed her vision as a landscape photographer. Worth a listen!

I enjoyed hearing a discussion with a thoughtful hobbyist. As a hobbyist myself, I found the topics quite relatable.

1 Like

Thanks Brent, glad you enjoyed it! A lot of my guests are hobbyists but we don’t really talk about it much, so it was cool to bring attention to it here.

Hi Matt, really enjoyed this discussion, especially highlighting some of the differences between a hobbyist and professional. Between this episode and your latest with Photo Cascadia, I had a question regarding a big problem i struggle with as a hobbyist in Oregon.

Like many others I got into the hobby after recently moving to Oregon, and at first I think i got swept up with the Instagram thing and too focused on trying to perfect everything. I thought Tara’s comments were perfect, being a hobbyist i don’t need to rely on the stress and time required that the pros put in. So I’m learning to balance that.

However, one thing that still bothers me is how difficult it is to find and share good shooting locations and I’m wondering if you have any advice there. For example it is more and more common for pros and even everyone to hide location details. Forums generally at best have trip reports. I understand why many like to hide location data now, but it also feels like a huge roadblock to those of us who are not only new to the hobby, but to the area (or any area) in general. It’s not about wanting to comp stomp, but about more easily learning about the exciting areas that are available to us, without spending countless hours researching trips - one thing I’ve found has killed much of the fun in everything.