Framing Divide Meadow at Point Reyes National Seashore

Greetings! My name is Austin Castrucci and I am a hobbyist photographer seeking to advance my skills in photography to be a professional photographer. For about 8 years now, I have been photographing various subjects that include trains, landscape, wildlife, and sports. I have not done much with submitting photos to the Nature Photographers Network and I wanted to share a photo that I did back in September 2017 at Divide Meadow at Point Reyes National Seashore. I noticed an oak branch that had streaks of Spanish moss hanging around it and saw a natural frame that captured the meadows near the forest line. I am looking for critiques on how I could do a better job at detecting natural frames, how I should edit the photo to bring out more dramatic effects with Photo Affinity, and how I can stay active outside. Look forward to everyone’s feedback. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Austin

Please list any pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

Austin,

First, welcome to NPN! Or at least welcome to your first post! Glad you decided to jump in and share an image.

Good vision here and a good job framing the seen with the oak - and I see a bit of Spanish Moss. This works well.

With your permission though, if you want a bit more constructive criticism, we should place this in the Landscape Critique area. That way folks are free to critique, offer suggestions, etc.

I can move this for you, but I believe you could edit this yourslef and change the category.

Welcome, and let me know if you would like this moved.

Lon

Hi Lon,
Thank you for the quick response. I am not seeing that I can move the topic to the critique section for landscapes. Can you please move it?

Sincerely,
Austin

No worries Austin. Wasn’t quite sure what permissions you had vs. the mods. I moved it to the critique gallery.