I'm Ariella, and I Hike with a Camera

As admitted in my profile, I’m just a dabbler–but I can’t get enough of the views. When I started hiking regularly, about three years ago now, I found the sights all around so beautiful, powerful–soul soothing–I just had to start taking some of them home with me. :slight_smile: So I began with my cell phone, taking pictures any time I found an inspiring view, or even just something small along the trail to catch my eye.

Since then, the camera has become a fixture on all my hikes–most of which have been in New Hampshire, USA. I’ve moved on to a “tough” camera, waterproof, shockproof, and so on. I’m still learning what my new camera is capable of, and I’m eager to learn more–as well as more about the craft of nature photography.

The image I’m sharing with this post is my current over-all favorite (of what I’ve taken this year), for the view! Though I have so many favorites for so many reasons…I guess I’m also hoping as I learn more about photography, maybe I’ll understand more about why certain photos appeal to me so.

Hello and welcome from a NH-native. I was just back visiting last week and spent a lot of time on the seacoast, but not the mountains.

Hiking with a camera is at the core of my photography as well and I’m looking forward to more scenes like the one you posted here.

One of the best ways to learn here on NPN is to be specific with your camera settings and processing - what you’re using for both and what you’d like to improve about a photo. We are all here to learn from each other and improve in our own skills and vision. I’m looking forward to your participation!

Ariella, welcome to NPN! So glad you found us. Kris has given you some very good advice for learning here at NPN. Looking forward to seeing more of your images. This one is beautiful!