My First Time

So this is my first time doing this type of photography art. I have always strive for super sharp images but wanted to experiment with this type of art. I will admit that I had a hard time taking the image as I’m not used to moving the camera during a shot. I like the colors and “fluidity” of the image but who am to judge something I’ve never done before.

What technical feedback would you like if any?

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Give it to me - all of it cause I must learn from your input.

Any pertinent technical details:

This is actually taken in the Florida Everglades and it’s sawgrass blowing in the wind with a canal as the backdrop. It may look “pretty” but sawgrass will cut you to pieces by simply touching it the wrong way.

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
1 Like

Hi Noel. I have a tough time coming up with critiques for abstracts like this, but I do like the strong verticals of the sawgrass. I also like the vibrant colors and hint of sharpness in the grasses. Most abstracts of this sort seem to use muted colors and tend to look softer, so this is an interesting contrast.

You mentioned moving the camera. Could you tell something about the direction of movement and shutter speed you used?

Hi Noel

Welcome to NPN. Photo Art is always an experiment - it’s more like painting is the way I like to think about it. You are definitely the one to judge because you probably had a “look” you were striving for.

I like your photo. I’m assuming you panned vertically but not for long? If you did not use an ND filter you might want to try that and go for a longer pan ( both time wise and physically longer). That all depends on the look you were going for though. You might want to provide more details of how you did this and what you were seeking to achieve.

Hello Dennis