Pentland Glow

Hey everybody,

This is my first time here on NPN. I’ve, of course, heard it’s name whispered in shadowy corners over the last few years. Looking forward to seeing it grow, and hopefully for me to benefit as much as many have in the past.

The image was taken on the walk back to the car after a particularly uneventful sunrise in the Pentland Hills, near Edinburgh. I only had time to grab a quick few images with the long lens before the light died just as quickly as it appeared.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Compositional options at the time were limited, but any advice and options would be greatly appreciated. Processing, colour balance advice, etc, would be most welcome. I’m struggling to provide contrast and interest while showing the soft, diffuse light and not destroying the shadows. That said, if it’s because it’s an awful image in the first place, more than willing to move on.

Any pertinent technical details:

Fuji XT-3, XF55-200, 150mm, F8, ISO 160. Single exposure. Developed in C1. Mostly dodging/colour dodging in photoshop.

Nice catch with that light. Something feels off balanced about the comp to me. Trying to find tweaks but not coming up with any. Think it comes from the large dark/heavy element on the right side pulling the eye that way. Glad you found the npn!

aF

Welcome to NPN Richard! Glad you’re here.