Scarlet tanagers

What technical feedback would you like if any? any

What artistic feedback would you like if any? any

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If backgrounds have been removed, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

Nikon D850
Sigma sport 150-600mm @600
f8
1/1000 sec
ISO 6400
Exposure +.7
Topaz DeNoise AI

I have only had the D850 for one week, so I am still learning the many differences between it and my previous D7100.

These were taken on a very cloudy and rainy day in a fully shaded woods, the typical habitat of the scarlet tanagers. This was one of my first expeditions with my new camera body. I turned on the auto ISO with a 6400 max., so as to maintain the 1/1000 & f8 settings.

I had not planned on posting these to NPN, but when I did a search of the site to look for others efforts of scarlet tanagers, I found no previous postings of them, therefore I decided to offer my efforts of these pretty little birds.

As I strolled in the woods, I was in the midst of this little flock of 3 or 4 males, and several females for 30 minutes or so in a nature area a few miles from my home. I suspect they were engaging in some pre-courtship behavior. The males were generally following the path of the females through the woods.

My great passion, and main purpose for buying the D850 is bird flight pictures, but I love taking photos of all things natural, and I’m excited about the future with my new camera body.

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below. ![_DSC0387-Edit-3-2|625x500]

Very nice compositions, David. I’ve only seen these once on a brief stop when my wife and I went back to Michigan to visit family several years ago. The image of the female has the look of a pretty large crop or very high noise levels, but the male is very good.

1 Like