Stars and Joshua Trees +repost

Stars and Joshua Trees +reworked

Original

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

We got up at 2:00 a.m. to get here. It was cold, but that didn’t matter. This was taken during a photo workshop in Joshua Tree National Park.

Specific Feedback

This is my first attempt at doing a panorama of the Milky Way. I struggled to process the sky values and shades to make them look natural.

Technical Details

This was taken on a tripod with my Sony a7iv and an FE1.8/14 GM lens. It was shot at ISO 6400, f/8, and 5 sec.
Processed in LR into a panorama of 7 frames. Topaz denoise and luminosity masking in PS for final processing.

I am greatful to @Diane_Miller for her evaluation of the bright horizon on the right of the compostion. It was very bright and I struggled with a way to tone it down using luminosity masking. The result was not pleasing but I finally gave up and posted what I had. I have tried again to process it. Feedback as to the success or failure to tame that area would be appreciated. I feel it is still too bright now that I have posted it. It is much brighter than on my screen in PS.

Critique Template

Use of the template is optional, but it can help spark ideas.

• Emotional Impact:
  • Mood Creation:
  • Composition:
  • Balance and Visual Weight:
  • Depth and Dimension:
  • Textures and Patterns:
  • Use of Color:
  • Lighting:
  • Subject and Genre:
  • Post-processing:
  • Technical Aspects:
1 Like

Hi Barbara,
I really like the composition. You did a great job of finding interesting rocks and trees nicely distributed across the frame. Getting the full arch of the Molly way is just fantastic.