Summer Ghosts (+ Rework)

Here is the revised image.

This was the original image.

I am very new to ICM having only started making photos in this genre in December 2021. What attracts me to it is the interplay between desired effects versus unexpected results. My approach to ICM is to let nature call my attention to it. That is what happened two weeks ago as I was hiking in the White River National Forest in the Silverthorne, Colorado, area. Inevitably, textures, repetitions, and colors have been the common thread in the ICM photos I make. Among all the blooming summer wildflowers in the area, I could not avoid capturing this scene. The aspen trees looked like ghosts levitating above the green ground cover. I liked the three main colors present: green, blue, and white. Although the original image was a bit darker, I wanted to emphasize the ghost-like features of the aspen trees. I tried a BNW version of the same photo but didn’t like it as much.

Specific Feedback Requested

Any feedback is appreciated. For example, is the soft light too distracting?

Technical Details

EXIF

IG: EgidioTX

3 Likes

Love aspen trees, Egidio. We used to live in Colorado and I could never get enough of them! Like you, the blues, white and greens and wonderful. Also, like how the subtle movement leaves enough information but still has an abstract feel. For me, it does feel a bit bright, but as always, this is a subjective medium, so it’s really how you want to project the image. Very nicely seen and captured.

Hi Egidio, thank you for sharing your aspen ICM image here. I love the movement you’ve captured. The grass on the bottom helps to anchor the image. My eye travels up along the aspen trees which have nice structure to them. The patches of blue sky complement the greens. Lovely image!