The jagged drops of English Falls

One of the tougher waterfalls to get to right off the Blueridge Parkway in NC, there’s just something surreal about sitting there. Maybe it’s that most of the time you have it all to yourself or maybe it’s getting lost in the green moss you can find all the way to the top of those jagged rocks. Either way this one’s my favorite in NC.

Specific Feedback Requested

I only had my 24-70, I needed a winder angle lens so I chose to focus stack in order to get the whole Falls in the shot. There isn’t a lot of room to back up and shoot it. I’d love any critique on composition/ burning and dodging or anything else I might be able to do different and make it better.

Technical Details

5 Likes

Hi Justin. I’m also a relative newbie here. This a really nice shot. I like the exposure length and the smoothness of the water. I also think you’ve composed the shot well with falls itself as my eye follows it through the frame into the background. If I would toy with anything it would maybe be the upper left corner? The tone of that section is brighter than the rest of the image and draws me away from the subject.

1 Like

Thank you Cameron! I Definitely see that upper left corner like you said. It was one area that bothered me the most but didn’t want to do too much so thank you very much!

1 Like

You are welcome. Really love the photo. Does look like a dreamy place to have to yourself.

1 Like