Tiny Forest

I took this photo while on a hike at Carver’s Gap, on the border of Tennessee and North Carolina, USA. Going through this tiny forest felt like I was in a fairy tale! I look up and I’m surrounded by a canopy of trees, all around me I could hear birds chirping and bees buzzing. When I breathed in the calming smell of the trees surrounding me was very peaceful. When I got to the end of this tiny forest, I was met with a breathtaking 360 degree view of the mountain range that surrounded us.

Specific Feedback Requested

I’m a beginner trying to gain general feedback about how I could improve my photography skills. I would greately appreciate any and all feedback, either about the image itself or how I could change the technical aspects.

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
Shot on a Nikon D3000, f/1.8, 1/500th, ISO 200.

3 Likes

Hello, Christina! Welcome to NPN! Sounds like a great hike, especially with a rewarding view at the end! I really like your description of the tiny forest. It sounds really beautiful. I like how you included the forest canopy in the foreground and I really like the stand of trees that look like pines that you are walking towards in the distance. It has a soft look to it. My only suggestion would be to try different settings like a smaller aperture and slower shutter, just to get a bit more depth of field and still have the soft light. I know you’ll get some good feedback on this site, it’s a really helpful community. I know you’ll like it! And feel free to give me and others advice too! Look forward to seeing more of your work! Nice first photo!

2 Likes

Thank you so much for your feedback, I really appreciate it and I’ll keep it in mind next time I’m out shooting! I’m really excited to be involved with this community :blush:

1 Like