Until Next Year

I posted a version of this image six or seven months ago in black and white. Given the magic inherent in this picture for me – the loon gliding into view just as I was about to tear down my set-up and call it a morning – I was never satisfied with the results. The first time around, as I came to work on it in post, I really didn’t have a clear idea of what I wanted the picture to be about and the result was a kind of dog’s breakfast – throwing a bunch of ingredients onto a table and hoping to end up with a banquet. Maybe I was just intimidated by the pressure of my own expectations at the time. Anyway, because this image is so special to me, I decided to do something I’ve never done before – go back and start again from scratch. This time I wanted to keep it simple and see if I couldn’t capture the magical, dream-like quality of the moment, more or less as I experienced it. I have been working on two versions simultaneously – colour and black and white. I like them both in their strengths. The danger with colour is that it can be used to hide an image’s weaknesses with the result being that the colour distracts from rather than enhancing the picture’s essence. I don’t think that is the case with this one. I feel that the colour adds another layer of complexity to the image – the sense of time. It is the colour that reveals the season and, I think a certain bitter-sweet sense of transition. The autumn comes early in canoe country and, despite the beauty, I always feel a slight melancholy at having to say goodbye for another year. Does any of this come through in this picture?

4 Likes

Kerry,