Backpacking and Photography by Dusty Doddridge

Excerpt from the Article:

If you were to guess whether there have been more people on the surface of the moon or more people who have completed a through-hike of the Grand Canyon, which would you choose? You’d be right if you guessed that more people have been on the moon! Pretty fascinating and inspiring to think about the types of difficult challenges humans can accomplish. Combining backpacking and photography isn’t easy, to be sure, but the rewards are pretty high.

Recently, on a three-week backpack in the Arctic mountains of Norway and Sweden, I had a chance to enjoy incredible nature, had a wonderful adventure, and even made a few photographs. I’ve been backpacking there for more than twenty years, and a few thoughts have become clear in my mind that might be useful if you’re considering doing more backpacking with your photography.

Continue reading in Nature Vision…

I really enjoyed this article on backpacking and photography, Dusty. You’ve given me a lot of food for thought!

I am curious how you break down your through hikes in terms of how many hours per day you can allow for making progress on the trail, sleep, campsite prep, food prep, and, photography?

Greg

Appreciate it Greg, good to have food for thought…and food to eat…whilst backpacking…!