Help with small bird photography cropping

Guys, I’m new here. I’m an amateur bird photographer from Brazil. I photograph mostly small birds im rainforests. I usually work with low light ambients.
My current equipment are: Sony a6500 + Sony 100-400GM lens wich gives me 600mm of reach.
I feel sometimes that I don’t have enough reach with my setup, since I photograph small bird that are far away in the trees. Therefore I have to do a lot of cropping in post processing to get to decent size birds. But, when I do so, a lot a time I end up losing too much resolution, getting non usable images. I’m thinking in upgrade my equipment and have 2 options:
Buy the new 200-600mm lens and use it on the a6500 body getting that 900mm reach so I be doing less cropping or buy a full frame camera such as the a7r3 or a9 or a7r4 with the 200-600mm lens and keep the 600mm reach, but with higher resolution. My doubt is:
Will I get better resolution images with the 900mm in a APS-C body or with the 600mm + post processing cropping in a higher resolution full frame body? Could anybody help me? I’m sorry if I’m not clear enough. Thanks guys!

If you buy a full frame camera your APS_C lenses will either not fit or will give you a crop that just uses the same number of pixels as the APS-C camera did. So you need a full frame camera and another lens to go with it. That’s my understanding. So you’re better off getting a long lens for your current camera for your immediate needs.