Milky Way at Balanced Rock +1 rework

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

The Milky Way over Balanced Rock at Arches National Park. 4AM, 25 degrees. It was worth getting up early and being really cold to make my first attempt at shooting the Milky Way. It truly was a thrill.

Specific Feedback

Any and all of feedback regarding composition, technicals and post-processing is welcome and appreciated. I am new at astrophotography so, all feedback will help me to improve.

Technical Details

Shot with my Nikon Z6ii and my Nikon 14-24mm lens. Shot at 14mm, f2.8, 25 seconds, ISO 4000

2 Likes

Welcome, Donna! I think you will find NPN a great place to hang out!

You got an excellent result, and a very impressive first post here, and an even more impressive first try at the Milky Way! It’s always helpful to post a larger size, but from what I can see the stars are well-focused and the very interesting galactic core has very nice tonal detail, with the dust arms reaching out to Antares well-defined. The exposure looks perfect and the bit of light on Balanced Rock is a very nice touch.

I see you have also captured a probable satellite. The sky is quite cyan and I would suggest playing with a more neutral white balance, although slightly cool is certainly a common choice. It’s a small point, but the UR corner goes quite dark. It would be interesting to lighten it just a bit with a gradient adjustment.

It’s always interesting for people to see a brief outline of processing steps, especially for astro images.

I look forward to seeing more of your work and reading your comments on other images.

Nicely done overall
Exposure for the MW seems fine - perhaps a bit too blue ? thats a personal taste
Whilst I understand that this is a night photo, i would consider bringing up the foreground exposre a little