Milky Way over Mt. Rainier

Hi - This is my first attempt at shooting the Milky Way. I have to admit, it was a lot of fun (except for staying up till 2AM). This is a blended photo and I used a Star Tracker to keep the stars in focus. The sky was shot at night, the landscape at sunrise. I realize this is not an award-winning photo, but would would love to hear your comments and critiques. That’s how we all get better.

Specific Feedback Requested

Any feedback is most appreciated! Thanks.

Technical Details

Blended photo.

Scott, very nice Milky way image… Night images have a real tendency to go green… I used a simple Pixinsight tool that clicks it to normal.
You can play around with the color caste on your own.

1 Like

Thanks, will try! I also just noticed the mountain itself is a bit too bright. May tone it down.

Beautiful image Scott. Great job on the sky. I like Dan’s edit to tone down the greens. The mountain does look a little bright relative to the rest of image. Nice composition.

1 Like

A very pleasing image and great first attempt at a Milky Way shot. I agree with you that you might want to darken the mountain. There appear to be star reflections in the water and it might be worth seeing if that could be enhanced.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback! Most appreciated.

Hi Allen,

Thanks for the feedback. Since the lower portion was shot at sunrise, I added in the stars to the water in post. I will try beefing them up a bit. Thanks for the suggestions!

Nicely done for a first effort. Interesting decision to blend a sunrise frame. A twilight frame seems to be the common choice, but that’s only one way to do it. I like the detail and colors in the core–enough but not overboard.

1 Like

Great job on the Milky Way image Scott! I’m a novice myself when it comes to night photography - and even blending these types of images, so I don’t have much to offer here in terms of suggestions!

I do agree with Dan’s edits as the original was slanting a bit green.