Organizing Images

Hello all! I have the most basic of questions - I need sorting and cataloging advice - like where to start.

As I begin a pivot to the nature and contemplative work I’ve always loved and created (but never did anything with) it’s time to change that. But I’m overwhelmed with the sheer number of unorganized folders, files (and yes, negatives) that reside on my server and various external hard drives. I don’t even know where to begin to sort, edit and catalog what I have. I’ve been a portrait photographer for 30 years so sorting client images is simple. Sigh. I’m open to any suggestions and advice.

Hi Cheryl! Outdoor Photographer had a nice 4-part series on organizing your photos. It focuses on Lightroom, but other editing/cataloging tools have similar capabilities. You have to be a “Member” to have access, which costs $3.99 per month - there is a 14 day free trial.

Here is the address for the first article - https://www.outdoorphotographer.com/tips-techniques/photo-editing-tips/organizing-your-photos-part-1-a-place-for-everything/

1 Like

Cheryl, you will probably get different answers from everyone who chimes in (since I have yet to meet two photographers who catalog files the same way)… which may simply muddle things even more. :wink:

Are you asking for suggestions on folder hierarchies and naming conventions, or something more along the lines of what software and hardware to use… or both?

Max

THank you Max, actually for organizing - folder hierarchies and naming or how folders are organized (by topic or place, etc), not necessarily hardware or software unless there’s something I’m not aware of - I am assuming Lightroom would be the right software?

Thank you, I will check it out!