Peaceful Cascades (+ Repost)

I am really excited about this image and I hope that it resonates with you all as well as it does with me. This is a spot that I found last fall on a trip to the Smokies. After reviewing that image I noticed a few opportunities for improvement so I wanted to return on my recent trip to see if I could improve the composition.

I think this represents my best composition to date of one of these stream photos. One of the differentiating factors is that I got bold and waded into the stream. That makes such a drastic difference in the composition and yields a perspective that I could not have otherwise captured at this location.

The light was mostly overcast, but there was some natural spotlighting on the leaves in the upper right hand third intersection point.

Amateur tip (since I am not a pro!): In the past my hesitancy in wading out into streams is that I was concerned about damaging my gear. My solution was to get a toploader bag which can carry a camera and lens and then put that in a dry bag while wading into the stream. This whole package can then fit in my F-Stop backback. The rocks are very slippery and it can sometimes be difficult to judge the depth of the water so having that extra bit of assurance is helpful when carrying expensive camera gear out into a stream.

Specific Feedback Requested

All comments and critiques are welcome. I’m quite pleased with the composition, but I welcome all feedback as that is how we learn.

As I was taking this image I was thinking about how valuable NPN has been to me in my journey in photography. I started out knowing basically noting about photography and NPN has been the primary source of my growth.

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
Base exposure:

18mm
f/13 @ 1/5 sec; ISO 64

Blended with another image for a slightly faster shutter speed for the water:

18mm
f/13 @ 1/8 sec; ISO 100