Some Sad News and Lessons Learned

As a biologist, I have observed that natural areas now exist as disjointed fragments and large predators such as grizzlies and wolves need more space than what can be provided for them in a park such as Yellowstone. Home ranges for these animals can extend for large areas and wolf populations are spreading to areas not covered by the park. There are studies that suggest that connecting habitat fragments can improve the genetics of animal populations. Creating a buffer area around the park that maintains habitat quality and enables roaming animals to be protected from hunting pressure may actually stabilize animal populations. I would like to keep this discussion more about photography and the science and biology of maintaining stable predator populations.

The photos presented in this NY Times Science article revealed the interesting features of the Lamar River Valley pack and provide with some information as to why Yellowstone is too small to comfortably contain all of these animals. And without those photos, the impact of the story is less noticed. Although this article covers a tragic and sad topic think about how you as a photographer can play a role in helping to spread the word about the problem of declining plant and animal populations.