Apple Blossoms

Critique Style Requested: In-depth

The photographer has shared comprehensive information about their intent and creative vision for this image. Please examine the details and offer feedback on how they can most effectively realize their vision.

Self Critique

This is my first attempt at infrared photography. I like the drama of the light against the dark. I wish the differences between the blossoms and the leaves were more defined. I am not sure what to expect with the infrared filter.

Creative direction

I am trying to present the plants and flowers in my environment in unexpected ways that portray them as art outside of the usual reality of shape and color.

Specific Feedback

All feedback is welcome. I especially want observations on the aesthetic appeal and any technical insights since this is my first attempt with my newly converted camera.

Technical Details

Setting for Apple blossoms
My camera was handheld.
I tried making a profile for infrared processing in LR but couldn’t load it. I am using a profile that I was able to download. Then, I processed it in PS using TK9 luminosity masking. I tried following instructions for channel swapping, but that did not work out. I did add considerable blurring to the BG. I added touches of pink to some of the blossoms, hoping it would call attention to them.

Description

The apple tree in my backyard was catching the early morning light. I grabbed my camera and braved the cold and wet grass in my slippers and robe. It was around 48 degrees, but who cares when you are playing with a newly converted camera? The fence was high enough to hide my situation if anyone else was so inclined to be out in their backyards.

1 Like

Unexpected it certainly is. The blue overwhelms my ability to see much else, unfortunately. I know it’s not the reaction you want, but there it is. The delicacy and forms of the flowers are subsumed. But heck, keep playing - that’s the whole point and the fun of having new stuff.