Burst of colors in Mohawk Trail

Hello all - This is Amith here and I am a budding landscape photographer. This is my first post here.

It was mid-afternoon and we had stopped on the side of a road on the Mohawk Trail to gaze at a mountain dispersed with a vibrant splash of colors. What caught my attention was that the top diagonal half of the mountain was being lit up by the afternoon sun and with it came the glow of the yellow and orange colors. Plus, the leafless tress gave the feeling of snow.

What is funny is that I was almost ecstatic at having captured this but my friends that I showed it to later, not so much.

What technical feedback would you like if any? I was wondering what is the general feedback about my picture?

What artistic feedback would you like if any? Is my vision of capturing a diverse set of colors combined with rays of sunshine coming through?

Pertinent technical details or techniques: Nikon D850 24-120mm 105mm f8.0

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

amithmohan

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
1 Like

You need better friends.:wink:
Just kidding. I like this for it’s less saturated autumnal colors. Nice change of pace. I think the bare trees contrast nicely with the others. I think you achieved your vision.
:vulcan_salute:

Thank you Michael. I appreciate your feedback. It is the contrast that I was hoping to get.

Welcome to NPN, Amith, this is a nice first post. I think late season foliage can be an interesting subject, with a mix of color and bare trees.