Desert at Uluru Kata Tjuta National Park

I am new to NPN; this is the first critique I am requesting. This is a first light image of the central Australian desert and outback in Australia’s Northern Territory. I am thinking of making a 24" wide metal print of the image and would appreciate any post-processing/editing ideas you may have for improvement. The color with its graduated changes as well as changes in density as the eye moves toward the background appeal to me. The image certainly dispels any stereotyped notion that the desert is barren. While shot in the iconic Uluru Kata Tjuta National Park, the image is not iconic.

What technical feedback would you like if any?.

Improvement in editing in LR Classic and PS. Also, I value any other feedback as well.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

All feedback is appreciated.

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Nikon D500, 24-70mm f2.8 Tokina lens, 1/80th second, ISO 250 shot at f8.0 at 70mm

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.
You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

Welcome to NPN. I personally have never been to this part of the world so I don’t know exactly how it looks. One thing I see is that the bottom part of the image is in shadow. Shadowed areas are naturally blue, however they are green in this image. I suspect that this occurred because you wanted to warm up the sunny area and applied that white balance change globally. Yellow mixed with blue makes green and your shadows start to look green. That’s my guess. If so then I would process the sunny areas separately from the shadowed ones using masks.

1 Like