Her Majesty

Image Description

Hi Tim, thank you so much for doing this! I’ve little experience with photography competitions, so I’m really enjoying your feedback on the submitted images.

I note in your rules for Natural Landscape Photography that black and white conversions are allowed, but that the light needs to be true to the original scene (if I’m understanding correctly). I find this tricky in black and white images, because of how strong the different options for both conversion and processing can be.

I’ll include the jpg the camera took along with the raw image; the jpg is true to the raw. Does this image fit the Golden Rule in your opinion, or do the contrast adjustments go too far? Any other feedback is appreciated as well.

Here’s the jpg the camera took with the raw.

Type of Critique Requested

• Aesthetic: Feedback on the overall visual appeal of the image, including its color, lighting, cropping, and composition.

• Emotional: Feedback on the emotional impact and artistic value of the image.

Specific Feedback and Self-Critique

When I took this image in 2019 I was new to both winter photography and black and white conversions. The mountain never fully cleared, but the sun trying to peek into that scene was a beautiful time to be out with the camera and I hoped to capture a bit of the moment. Experiencing the beauty and bringing some of it home are two different things. Does this image fit with your experience of photography competitions? Any and all suggestions for improvement are appreciated.

Technical Details

Sony RX100 (handheld)
10.4 mm (26 mm equivalent)
1/1000 sec. at f/11 and ISO 125

1 Like

I’ll be honest - the color version doesn’t do much for me. The b&w, however…yowza! The brighter snow pops and though it may be a figment of my imagination, there seems to be more texture throughout the image. The clouds also have much more detail and contrast, which adds tremendously to the overall mood. Absolutely breathtaking!

2 Likes