I´m Colleen Miniuk, ask me anything

If you’re not an NPN member yet, you can join our free tier to ask questions in the AMA or to get the full benefits of what we offer; you can join here.

Hi NPN! Colleen Miniuk here, although people call me Bubbles. Waving hello from sunny and warm Chandler, Arizona. Thanks for the opportunity to do this AMA!

Growing up in Ohio, Arkansas, and Illinois, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to be when I got older. I certainly never intended to become a photographer. I evolved into an overachieving, type-A, perfectionist who just wanted to be rich and happy. Early on, athletics were my ticket to achieving success. I attended Stanford University for my freshman year, then transferred to the University of Michigan, on a volleyball scholarship. I graduated with a Business Administration-Computer Information Systems degree. Still, I didn’t know what I wanted to be (although I did declare in my last college semester, “I want to write a book someday; I just don’t know what to write about.”)

Stress kicked the minute I started working for Intel Corporation in Arizona as a software engineer/project manager. To relieve stress, I picked up photography in 2001 by attending a black-and-white class at the local community college. I walked into my first class without a camera or clue, but immediately felt the color returning to my life. I started spending all my free time outside with my camera. A couple years later, I started selling my work in art shows, getting published in magazines and calendars, and getting hired for commercial gigs (where I’ve photographed just about everything except weddings, funerals, and babies). After sitting in a cube for 9 years, I realized the path society wanted me to travel wasn’t the path I wanted to be on. So I left Intel on February 28, a day I celebrate as my personal Independence Day. I celebrate my 17th (!!!) Independence Day this year.