Mississippi Kite, Washtenaw County, MI

Description:

I always laugh when a birder says that they got an awesome view of the bird. That usually means that the bird was visible for a split second in dense fog while mostly concealed behind leaves and sticks. I was somewhat hesitant about chasing a Mississippi kite because most birder tales end up in disappointment. I chased, found, and photographed the kite and unfortunately, the lighting was not great. As I approached this clearing, the kite landed at the top of a dead tree and I started shooting. I was using manual settings with auto ISO and the initial images were under exposed as I forgot to boost up the EC. After making some adjustments, I was able to get some reasonable images even with the dark lighting.

Specific Feedback Requested:

Pertinent technical details or techniques: D500 600mm f4 (1/400 sec. at f5.6, ISO 500). Levels, Topaz DeNoise, Enhance feature in Adobe Bridge, crop for comp, Shadows & Highlights, Brightness & Contrast. The kite has a cataract in its right eye which appears as a grey spot in the photo…Jim

Is this a composite?

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

Whoa!

I was in Ann Arbor last week, chasing cicadas and not thinking to check for birds. Are you able to give a more detailed location?

1 Like

@paul_g_wiegman the bird is in the NE corner of the Cherry Hill Nature Preserve. Take the unmarked trail east from Trail 4 and go north when trail reaches a clearing. When you see bluebird boxes on your left and a park bench, you are in the right spot. The kite goes out to catch cicadas and returns to the dead trees to eat its catch. I might head out to there this evening to catch it in better light.

Thanks Jim,