Misty morning

A shot from a recent trip into the redwoods. It was a foggy/misty morning with the sun finally starting to show after about a week of rain.

Specific Feedback Requested

Always looking to improve my photos. Pretty new to using LR and have never tried out PS. Is there anything missing here or is there something that needs to be enhanced or removed? Thank you for the feedback!

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
100mm ISO 500 f. 5.6 1/320 sec- Used some sliders here and there. Really not that much with post processing. I am still so new to editing.

@love_4_the_outdoors

John, this caught my eye right away. I see dreamy, misty wonder in this image. I love the central light and sun rays coming down. The moss hanging from the branches is so cool, and really adds to the scene.
You’ll have fun learning Lightroom, and Photoshop too. I’m new to Photoshop myself. If it were mine I might see if I like a slight vignette to darken around the edges, but there is plenty of light in the middle to draw the eye so a vignette might not be helpful. I experiment and see what I like. Stay true to your vision! Beautiful moody scene!

Hi John - the redwoods are heavenly and this shows that well. However I think it’s a lot to look at in once scene. Wide angles like this can be chaotic so sometimes going in tighter reveals the strength of a photo. There are tons of tutorials and courses that will help with Lr and with Ps. I’ve been using Lr for over a decade and am still learning new things. I’ve only been using Ps for a few months, but the expertise here on NPN is huge.

Anyway, I brought this into Ps for some Camera raw adjustments and some dodging, burning and obviously a crop to what I think is the heart of the image. I hope you don’t mind.