Moonrise at Dawn

This is my first time posting an image here. Given the very high quality of what I’ve seen here so far, it is a bit intimidating. Here’s part of my story. Every year for the past dozen years or so, my wife and I take the month of August and paddle the remote backcountry of Northwestern Ontario and Northeastern Manitoba. We travel alone and may often go 25 or 30 days without seeing another human being. Splendid isolation! It was because of these trips and my desire to share my impressions of these incredible landscapes while they still exist, that I took up photography three years ago. What I am trying to convey is something of the silence and solitude that pervades these places. If I can get another five or more years out of this old body, I would like this to be a long-term project. This image was taken last August and is really my first foray into black and white processing (I was deliberately composing with the intention of monochrome images.)
So, on the artistic and compositional end, how does it feel to you? I’ve tried to make a strong visual statement without pushing it too far. I want to convey a sense of awe but also retain a natural feel. I would like to know whether you have a sense of the “silence and solitude” I’m talking about? From a technical point of view, how have I done with the post processing? I start in Lightroom but do most of my post in Photoshop working with the TKv6 panel.
EXIF: Fuji XT-2, Fujinon 16-50mm f/2.8, ISO 800, 44 mm, f/14, 1/250 sec

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
3 Likes