Owen's Bend

I grew up going further north in the Sierras and have recently had the chance to stop lower down to enjoy and explore. My kids and I are finding some great trails to hike and cow’s to watch meander. We were camping at one of the nearby creeks and decided to explore the Owen’s. It was mid-day and a cloudless sky, so I lacked getting some extra oomph, but the river still draws me and the beauty isn’t less, just different. Thanks in advance for taking the time to look and share with me. I truly appreciate your time!

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Processing thoughts (I’m VERY new to processing photos and am practicing playing with shots I get to help grow) and ANYTHING else you have feedback on. Also, I’m in the market for another lens. I’m more than open to hearing your opinions on a good starter EF-S wide angle that can help improve on shots similar to this. I have a couple I’m considering but would love opinions if you feel like sharing.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Always interested in composition thoughts and anything else!

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Canon T3i 600D, stock 18-55mm lens @ 37mm, ISO 100, f14, 1/160, hand-held

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

Kori, welcome to NPN. Given it was mid day I think you handled the harsh light quite well. At this time of day with clear skies I tend to look for more intimate scenes, but as you said this is still a beautiful place to capture and you did I a nice job highlighting the river bend.
I would prefer a little more breathing room above the mountain peaks and on the left side of the river bend,
I am not a Canon shooter but am sure others here will offer suggestions for a wider lens.
I look forward to seeing more of your work!