Pre-Freeze

It is no secret that i am a new photographer :slight_smile: and like many i got sucked in by grand dramatic scenes. The more I read and observe others whose work I admire i see them doing more and more small placeless / timeless scenes. I thought perhaps i could start trying to pay attention to smaller details and capture smaller scenes.
This is my first attempt.
Do you like the time blend with some texture in the water? or is it better smoothed out?

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Do you think the composition works? if now do you propose a different crop? any advise on how i could have perhaps made it stronger in the field?

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Any feedback is welcome

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

(If this is a composite, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)
This is a focus stack image of 3 exposures

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

If I was a new photographer, and the Canadian Rockies were essentially in my backyard, I would not be apologizing for shooting grand scenics. But that’s the great thing about places like Banff NP, they are rich in both grand scenics and small scenes. I prefer to shoot a mixture of both and grand and intimate, for more variety in my collection of images. However, this is an excellent first stab at an intimate landscape on your part.

I prefer the version with the smoothed out water, I think it creates a more calm and gentle feeling in the image (and is more consistent with the soft light in this scene). I think your processing looks spot on, the luminosity and texture in both the snow and the flowing water looks great. I think the composition works well, with a well defined foreground, midground, background.