Pseudocide

If you don’t hang out in flora, you may have missed this photo I posted of a group of Entoloma abortivum fruiting on a tree that came down in a thunderstorm a couple of years ago. It’s an 8-image stack.

I love this shot for the textures and the fallen leaf and the mystery below. I’ve been an avid mushroom photographer for over a decade, but with that many shots a lot of then end up being kinda the same. In an attempt to stretch my creativity with fungi photos, I created this. To me it does two things - something different with mushroom photography, at least my mushroom photography, and second represents my intent, planning and success with producing such a photo. Not that I’m patting myself on the back exactly, but I think we often run ourselves down when it comes to our talents.

Specific Feedback Requested

Whatever you’ve got.

Technical Details

Tripod in natural light and focus bracketing using the 0/-/+ method - used 8 out of about 20 images taken

Lr for wb adjustment & a bit of an exposure boost since I deliberately underexposed it so as to keep things looking more like deep shade. Lowered shadows on the edges more. The usual S-curve for most everything else. Some texture, clarity, sharpening & nr. A lot of masking to manage the contour and texture in the mushrooms.

Zerene for stack. DMap with PMax detail in the mushroom. This left the deep shadows relatively noise free.

Photoshop for some distraction removal and some work with the TK8 panel - color, luminosity and zone masks as stencils for some dodging and burning to bring up contour. Clarity action with a black mask so I could paint it in where needed. Changed the leaf color to a more orange since it was a greenish yellow and that didn’t work. More dodging and burning, especially around the edges to reduce the presence of the mushrooms lower down.

3 Likes