Reeds on the Lake + Rework

Rework:

Original (modified):

As a complete novice to landscape photography, I thought I’d give it a try when I saw this scene in Korea. I wanted the reeds to be the main subject, and this was what I thought was the best angle to capture them at in the evening sunlight.

Type of Critique Requested

• Aesthetic: Feedback on the overall visual appeal of the image, including its color, lighting, cropping, and composition.
  • Technical: Feedback on the technical aspects of the image, such as exposure, color, focus and reproduction of colors and details, post-processing, and print quality.

Specific Feedback and Self-Critique

My first consideration was composition. What are your thoughts on this? Then I tried to capture the different tones/luminosity, which looked interesting. I have Photoshop CS6, so I used the TK Basic V6 panel to play around with the differently-lit sections of the shot. I thought that this was particularly necessary with the upper half of the picture, and I made several TK selections and adjustments to curves or shadows before I was fairly happy with the results. But the landscape experts here will see things I didn’t see, and know the solutions, so please cut to the chase!

Technical Details

D500 + 24-120 f 4 (@38mm) 1/125 f8 ISO 200 hand-held

3 Likes

Hello Mike. First, the scene has a lovely quiet feeling to it, very pastoral, yet with energy in the golden reeds. You saw a nice scene here. It’s just not one that fits the 35mm ratio very well. Thus, my first thought is to eliminate the sky altogether in a crop. Our eye goes to the brightest area of the frame, and in this case you don’t want us going up there. By cropping below the ridge line, you take care of that white sky issue. The next area I would look at is the lighter slope on the left, perhaps burning that in just a tiny bit to not have the eye pulled there. Whatever other edits you did with TK panels, it works! I love how the stand of reeds glows.

1 Like