State-of-the-art?

This image is not for artistic critique but please comment on the technical approach which is described in full detail.
This Merlin was flying around our local wetlands. Of course, it would not come close enough to get a reasonable shot or was it? Certainly, there is nothing like a full frame image with a bird filling at least 50% of the frame. This is a processing exercise. I’m not trying to show off my skills; I’m just trying to present what is currently possible and I am no expert.

In the last few years, Topaz labs has been fine tuning their products and a lot of us are using them with good results. Perhaps, the noise reduction AI and then sharpening AI get the most accolades from our members. I don’t disagree. (Topaz didn’t pay me to say this; in fact I had to pay them to renew my upgrades for a year.)

This image starts out at 9504 x 6336 pixels which is the size of the full frame Sony’s A7r4 sensor. This was taken at 800 mm equivalent so the bird is quite far away.

And what I envision is approximately 2000 x 1400 pixels crop. The original image non cropped is 61 megapixels. Cropped as above is 2.8 megapixels or 4 1/2% of full frame. That is a fairly large crop. On top of that the exposure is not great; some of the whites are blown and the shadows are really too dark to see a lot of detail.
First step was to open the image and make initial corrections with DxO photo lab 4, which was just released last week. They have a new AI based algorithm on noise reduction called Deep Prime. The next step was to use Topaz Gigapixel AI which interpolates the image and increases its size between 0.5 and six times. This is a 2.0 increase.
I then ran that image through Topaz De noise AI using the AI clear setting. And then I ran the whole image through Topaz AI sharpen. Finally, I did some cloning to remove a few light areas that were blown out and I did some local Photoshop sharpening with opacity set to 50%.