Sunlight in the Redwoods

I took a trip to Big Sur back in November and hiked through the redwoods and took a few shots of the sun rays coming through the trees. It took me a while to figure out what I wanted to do with this image but I think I am mostly there. The one thing I regret is blowing the highlights a bit but I figured its not too bad since I shot directly into the sun.

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Processing, Just started using TK actions Panel. I am a bit over whelmed but I’m slowly adding more and more to my work flow.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Composition, I tried to use the light and shadows as leading lines but I’m very new to forest images so everything is an experiment.

Any pertinent technical details:

Canon 5d Mark 3 16-35 F4 L at 16mm
1/80 F/9 Iso 640

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
1 Like

David, this is a pretty interesting image, I like the idea of using the shadows as leading lines to the backlit trees. The composition works well, I like the way you used the trees on the left and right as frames. The TK panel has a steep learning curve, but it looks like you are off to a pretty good start. The shadow detail in the trees looks good, and I like the color/contrast you have in the backlit leaves of the trees.

The highlights in the white sky are blown, but I think that looks natural for this type of scene, and not objectionable. However, there are some areas in the foreground / midground that feel too hot to me, and would benefit from local burning. These include the rock and fallen log on the left middle, and some of sunlit ground cover.

I assume this was taken as one exposure. I might have considered taking two bracketed exposures and blending them using luminosity masks to get better control over dynamic range. This is an alternate way to deal with the hot areas, rather than trying to burn them.

1 Like

Hi Ed -