The Power of Personal Projects

Originally published at: https://www.naturephotographers.network/articles/creative/the-power-of-personal-projects/

Independent of your photographic status (professional, enthusiast), genre (outdoor, architecture, people, events), and training (college, art school, self-taught), eventually nearly all creatives tend to experience a mental block. Maybe you’ve been a photographer for 10 weeks, maybe 10 years. You love what you do, but it’s just not enough. You’re in a rut. The passion is gone. You’ve no doubt heard the cautionary tales about yet another creative who’s packed it all up, sold off all their gear, and decided to do something else. Only this time it is you.

Do you remember why you picked up a camera in the first place? Most (if not all) professional athletes who get paid millions to play a game will say that the best time in their career was the time coming up — the time before the money, contracts, and endorsements. Being a creative is no different: Picking up your camera with no creative brief or for no monetary gain can remind you why you got into the field to begin with. Anything we do for a career will eventually become a “job.” Getting burnt out on a fun, creative outlet is inevitable.

What

How you choose to remedy the situation is key to rekindling the creative fire. One simple answer is to start a personal project. Personal art projects have been beloved by artists for ages. There’s a lot of talk among photographers about personal projects. I mean projects that are not for clients. If it’s not personal, I don’t do it.

For me the key word is “project.” Projects are highly flexible, allow me to stretch my wings, and make me a better photographer. I prefer to drive to all the destinations I go to for photography. I have two long-term personal projects that I work on whenever I am on the road. The subject matter for each project — rocks and trees, and derelict buildings — is generally found serendipitously.

Why