Why images lose color when they are brighter?

This is a response to a question @Vanessa_Hill asked in Landscape Critique regarding one of her images, histograms, and how color is reduced when an image is brightened. I replied here, because her post is no longer new and I thought it important that others could weigh in. Here’s my thoughts, please add your wisdom as well:

The answer to this is much of the time yes, but as with most rules of photography some very powerful images come from breaking the rules.

This gets a bit wonkish, but what you may be noting is a result of the way that that the rgb colorspace works. I’ll try to explain, but I’m no expert and so hopefully others on NPN more experienced than I can point out the parts that are complete hogwash :grinning:.

In rgb, luminosity (brightness) is defined on a scale of 0 to 255. When all three of red, green, and blue have the same value there is no color, only shades of gray. For example, when red, green, and blue all equal zero you have pure black. When they all are 255, you have pure white. How dark or light the gray is, is determined by how high or low the numbers are; a medium gray is when all three colors are set to 128.

Color happens when the numbers are set to different levels. For example, the pure and brightest red that is possible in rgb is when the red is set to 255, and green and blue are set to zero.

Here’s the interesting part though. As you brighten you get closer and closer to white, which has no color. If we take that brightest pure red I defined above and we raise the green and blue values to say 128 (instead of zero) the color becomes brighter but not so red; the “redness” has now been diluted because the green and blue are stronger. If I take it even further and raise the green and blue to 244, the image becomes only a tiny bit red; it is now almost a pure white even though red still has a value of 255.