Wimberley Sidekick

I have been using the Wimberley I for over ten years, and I have to say that it has been absolutely trouble free. In fact it’s never even been disassembled, lubed or anything else. I realize the Wimberley II is lighter, but I like the panning center knob because it rests comfortably in the palm of the hand, and I often carry the whole rig inverted. Now that I’m over 70, I’ve decided that the Sidekick not only makes for a lighter weight alternative, it’s great for being able to pair it with a ball head on occasions where the ball head alone is beneficial.

I have an Acratech unit that is Acra-type compatible, also a Manfrotto RC2 ball head as well. And I know there are conversion options where the RC2 can be adapted to Arca-type use. For any of you who have used the Sidekick, I’d be interested for you to comment on any caveats, and any other advice for that matter. Thanks much in advance.

I’ve been with Whimberley since Dave shipped out prototypes of his original for testing, and of course tested the Sidekick for him before he put it on the market. I still have that old original gray Whimberley prototype, but darned if he didn’t want the prototype Sidekick back for evaluation. I went right out and bought another the moment he put it on the market. So no, I’m probably NOT objective. :rofl:

Even so, I have to say the Sidekick gets virtually all my use now, especially for travel but even around the house. It’s that good, and that much more convenient than the original full size version. Though Dave originally rated the Sidekick for lenses only as big as the 300 f/2.8, mine has had years of use with my Nikkor 500 f/4 and more recently the Nikon 200-500 f/5.6. Never a wobble or a glitch. The ballheads are mostly ancient Arca Swiss B-2’s on big tripods, but for the last couple of years I’ve been using the Sidekick on the tiny RRS BH-30 head on a correspondingly small Gitzo CF travel tripod (don’t recall the model at the moment).