Winter Dune

I ventured to a provincial park on the shore Lake Huron on a cold January day. There was some cloud cover and the winter sun stays low in the sky. We’ve not had a lot of snow this year and I studied the dunes from the boardwalk or the shore. The dunes are delicate ecosystem so I didn’t wander through the dunes. I’ve recently purchased a long zoom lens (200-600) for wildlife but decided to use it to isolate some interesting scenes. You can see a hint of the sand mixing with the snow in certain places.

Specific Feedback Requested

Any feedback would be appreciated. There are 1 or two items on the right hand side that I might consider cloning out. Generally, I don’t clone much in my landscape work but consider using it carefully in certain circumstances.

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
1/15 f16, iso100. 200mm on a full frame.

@bryannelsonca

Intriguing and really beautiful. Thank you for not stomping in there instead shooting with the long lens. Something I sometimes have to remind myself of - tread lightly or not at all. Mostly it’s bogs or similar down this way.

The varying shades in the sand is really nice and you could, very slightly, emphasize it if you wanted to. Taking the darker bits down a little bit and possibly taming the highlights in the upper portion. Nice light, too. It brings up the texture in the sand without overwhelming the delicacy of the image.