American Redstart

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

I like the somewhat quizzical look he’s giving me. I used a high shutter speed as he was in almost constant motion, and hence a high ISO. Also, the setting was much darker than it might seem from the image. Noise Reduction did a good job, but still may be a bit crunchy in places.

Specific Feedback

Any thoughts appreciated.

Technical Details

Canon R5; 100-500 with 1.4 TC at 700 mm; 1/3200 at f10, +2/3 EV, ISO 20,000

Critique Template

Use of the template is optional, but it can help spark ideas.

• Vision and Purpose:
  • Conceptual:
  • Emotional Impact and Mood:
  • Composition:
  • Balance and Visual Weight:
  • Depth and Dimension:
  • Color:
  • Lighting:
  • Processing:
  • Technical:
2 Likes

Let me prefix this by saying I am an amateur and just joined, but if I want to get constructive feedback on my images I need to do the same for others, so i am trying to learn to do so. I really like all the detail in the feathers and his face, I like his head tilt and how sharp his eye is. I also really like the nice soft blurred out background, and the yellow background goes really nicely with the yellow in the birds coloring. Ideally I would like to see a little more depth of field - the focus falls off on his tail feathers - but maybe you would not have been able to achieve the nice soft background if you had done that. I wonder about darkening the upper left and lower right corners of the background a bit? Overall I think he is beautiful.

2 Likes

Hi Elizabeth. Thanks for your comments. Darkening those areas is a good idea. The OOF tail might be due to movement-he was flitting among the brush and really wouldn’t stay still for long. I applaud your approach to NPN. I know I learned a lot about what I liked in a bird photo by critiquing others.

1 Like