Aspen afternoon

Image Description

When Iam out and about looking for compositions, I bring both cameras.
I have my Canon 90 D as my main camera and a Canon T6 set up with my 50 mm 1.8
When hiking I keep the 90 D in my pack until I find whatever catches my eye and clip the T6 on the shoulder strap for quick looks and snap shots.
I have been playing around with B&W for a couple months now to try and better my photography.
This is a handheld shot with my T6 along a trail near the house.

Type of Critique Requested

• Aesthetic: Feedback on the overall visual appeal of the image, including its color, lighting, cropping, and composition.
  • Emotional: Feedback on the emotional impact and artistic value of the image.

Specific Feedback and Self-Critique

The two Aspen stood out to me as the area I was in was very busy, hard to find anything visually satisfying for me to shoot.

Technical Details

Canon T6, ISO 100 F2.5 .2500

1 Like

Mathieu, I too like to shoot some black and white. I think the birch trees are a good subject and the contrast with the black background makes them stand out. I wonder if a different angle so that the tree in the back is not in the image would improve it? I guess I am not sure it is adding anything. I also wonder if a lower angle to have more of the black background vs. the snow and shadows. I find black and white photography works best when the image is simplified. The contrast and texture of the trees is what catches my eye.

1 Like

Lisa, Thank you for taking the time.
I do think the tree in the background is distracting as well. I was looking to give a sense of depth with the snow and slope behind the Aspens.
I still have a lot learn, B&W photography is fun and challenging so far.
I think Iam getting addicted to it, LOL!
Thanks again,
Mathieu

Hi Mathieu,
Welcome to NPN! I am looking forward to see your work here and to see you grow :slight_smile:
I think your eye caught something here that was deserving of a capture.