Black and White Yosemite High Country

Here is another photo from my archive of photos from 11 years ago back when (sigh…) I was backpacking, taken with a Canon Rebel XT. I’d love your opinion on: is the blue part of the sky too dark, is the image over sharpened, is the overall contrast too much, too little? Any other suggestions welcome. ISO 200 17 mm lens (crop factor 1.4), f/14, 1/40 sec, hand held

XT did great, everything looks good. Maybe a little less contrast, the sky reminds me of infrared imaging. You are the best judge.
TY

Beautifully composed, Tony. The clouds add nice depth and visual interest. I’m no expert in BW processing but the blacks look a little weak and the white point just a bit too bright. Hopefully that makes sense.

1 Like

Tony,

Indeed a most beautiful High county alpine landscape. Couldn’t even venture a guess since I’m not quite the Yosemite back country expert. But no matter, this is a grand view.

I’m good with the “blues” - in fact more towards some of the classic b&w looks - if you know who I’m thinking of…

I’m a bit with Dave. To me, the meadow and opposing tree lined granite slopes are lacking a little contrast, I think. Unlike the sky. One thing that will mention, and unsure how to address at the moment, is to somehow separate a bit more the granite peaks in the center with the adjacent clouds. Might be problematic given the tonal values are so close.

Which leads me to ask, what’s the color version like? Just wondering if the browner granite in the peaks might separate? Certainly not a bad call on the b&w, just curious on the color.

Lon

@Dave_Dillemuth and @Lon_Overacker hit the main points that jumped out at me. The landscape itself feels to be lacking contrast. Love the sky, though!

1 Like

Nice shot Tony, what a wonderful scene. Makes me want to visit :smile: