Broad-tailed Hummingbird(?)

Driving down from Mt Evans I found a lodge with some bird feeders. In the surrounding bushes some of the birds sat still for a while. As was this one. I assume it’s a Broad-tailed, if anyone could confirm or correct this, that would be great. Thanks for any comments as well ! Cheers, Hans

What technical feedback would you like if any?

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Nikon D850 with 500mm f4 | 1/640s | f5 | ISO320 | underexposed 2/3EV | handheld)
I cloned out two branches. Since I am not a pro at that I hope it’s not noticeable :wink:

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.
1 Like

I think I know exactly which lodge you are talking about. This is such a gorgeous portrait of this guy, Hans. I might want a bit more depth of field but it’s a minor point to a very gorgeous portrait. I didn’t notice any clone artifacts.

Lovely image. I like that you’ve left lots of space around the subject and not cropped it tighter.

1 Like

Thank you Adhika. As to the DOF, I know not everybody appreciate my choice of very shallow DOF is almost all my images, but it’s sort of my signature I guess :wink: … I usually prefer smooth BG, and as long as the eye/head/major parts are sharp I’m happy. But it’s personal, of course :slight_smile: .

Lovely portrait of this little fella. I have yet to get a good photo of a hummingbird, they just never stop moving for me, haha. I like your choice of aperture for this one, it creates a very cool look. I don’t see any sign that you cloned branches out, so it’s not noticeable to me!