Can I get sharp images on IG? WV Waterfall

What am I missing to get sharp images on social media? I keep trying different techniques but seem to come up short. Am I expecting too much?

This is my first attempt at focus stacking. I doubt my abilities and always come away with too many images and make it hard on myself for my limited abilities in PS. I keep seeing the adds for Topaz DeNoise and Sharpen and wonder if it’s worth it?

This Photo was exported as a jpg at 85% quality and sharpened in PS. There has been no denoise filters applied.

Nikon D800 1/10 sec at f13 ISO 100, 27mm (17-50mm f2.8) Sigma

#79southbound

Is your image sharp prior to uploading to social media? The reason I ask is because my D810 always produces fuzzy RAW files that need to be sharpened PRIOR to image reduction for the web. I go through a 2 phase sharpening when processing for the web, before and after reduction. The non reduced sharpening I do in ACR Detail module with the image viewed at 100%. For web presentation I use Tony Kuypers application. I don’t know if this helps.

Nice image but I would do something about the rock in the lrc.

The answer is no. :slightly_frowning_face: I’ve fine tuned my lenses and still have to sharpen in post. My D7200 wasn’t any better. This all combines to create the problem. When I see crystal clear images posted I think there’s no reason I can’t do the same. I end up going too far with sharpening and my images look like a lego puzzle or I get one that I think is good and it is still soft.
Is this a camera issue or a technique problem. After thinking about it I hear more problems from people shooting Nikon. Maybe I just need more practice and settle on a consistent process.

Thanks for the tip on the lrc. I’ve been so caught up in everything else I totally missed it.

A couple comments/questions regarding sharpening, but since you imply your processing abilities are limited, they may help others provide good advice to you.