Cypress Trees in Fog

This handheld image was shot from a moving boat in the Atchafalaya swamp in Louisana on a November morning. Didn’t get a sunrise, but instead got beautiful fog that engulfed the trees and lingered on top of the water. I had to shoot fast due to the moving boat and didn’t get an opportunity to fine-tune my composition.

Specific Feedback Requested

Is the image off balance? Is there too much going on on the right hand side? Does it need to be cropped on the left to make it more balanced?

Technical Details

230 mm
ISO 100, f/16, 1/4 sec
Processed in LR and PS

2 Likes

Beth, I love this photo. I am a big fan of fog in photos - it really give is a magical feel. I am also quite envious as I’ve been wanting to go here for years. I love the muted colors and the feeling of tranquility. I’m a complete novice at critiquing, but I would have loved to have seen more of the main subject reflected in the water in the foreground. I assume that this was not possible, unless the photo was cropped. Otherwise I love it and the way that the leaves and branches on the top and sides frame the main subject.

Hi Sarah Jane,
Yes, I agree, I would have loved a reflection from the big tree in the front of the frame. Even just a little of a reflection would have been neat. However, I was at the mercy of the boat I was in. I was just shooting rapidly as the boat was moving around. I really didn’t know what I got until later. I don’t believe I cropped this photo at all.
Thank you for taking the time to comment. If you ever get to go down to LA or TX to see these trees, it really is a magical experience!

1 Like

Hi Beth, I know you’re looking for Alex’s input here, and I too, look forward to his thoughts. I did want to give you my impressions for what they’re worth. Please take them or leave them… :slightly_smiling_face: