Drakensberg Inversion

Hi Everyone. I am new to NPN - after hearing about it from Alex Noriega I had a look and liked what I saw. This is my first post, and I am here to further develop my knowledge of landscape photography, both in capturing and processing my photos. I am open to any feedback of any kind. Please be honest. I value every bit of feedback from everyone.

Photo Location : Drakensberg Mountains in South Africa

What technical feedback would you like if any?

All feedback welcome.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

All feedback welcome.

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

This is 1 exposure, processed mainly in Lightroom, but also some finer tweaks like dodging / burning in Photoshop. Photo taken whilst backpacking with a Nikon D850 / 70-200 f4 @ 86mm / ISO 64 / f8 / 1/40 sec exposure.

Instagram username - @markdumbletonphoto

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

Great shot, Mark. And welcome to NPN. That must have been an amazing experience. You created a wonderfully dramatic composition with that ridge cutting diagonally through the clouds, and I love how the cloud above the ridge line mimics its shape. I’d suggest possibly cropping out a little of the sky. Just a little bit would do, mostly some off the top and left and perhaps a sliver off the right. I really like how the clouds frame the bottom of the image. Also, it could just be the monitor I’m using, but you may want to use a brush to adjust the clouds a little to bring out some more detail. Maybe experiment with exposure, highlight, clarity, and dehaze sliders.

1 Like

@Cameron_Miller Thanks so much for the feedback. I’ll definitely try the crop suggestions. Regarding bringing out more detail in the clouds, do you think they are a bit too bright too? I agree that bringing out a bit more texture in the clouds will help.

As per crop suggestions, do you think this is better?

1 Like