Expansive Gorge View

This is my very first post. I am new to photography and I am trying to work very hard to get better, especially at landscapes. This was taken last week on a hike in the Columbia River Gorge . I am open to ALL feedback (composition, editing, etc) as I really want to improve. It is not my favorite picture…but those are the ones we learn from most, right?

Technical details: Panasonic GX85, 14-140 mm lens @ 14 mm, f9, 1/500, ISO 200, hand held. Edited a bit in Lightroom.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Hi, Becky. Welcome!

Understand, I am strictly an amateur photographer, but I love this view! For my taste, I might have cropped out a bit more of the foreground, and perhaps a bit on the left side, but I understand you were going for a panoramic view. Keep shootin’!

Best,
Terry

1 Like

Hi Becky and welcome!
You’ve found yourself a nice overview of the area here, the river and sky add some depth to the scene. What strikes me most is how the foreground lacks some interest or ‘direction’. Some items in it are a bit close to the edges of the photo (the tree on the left, the white flowers in both lower corners), the rock to the right of the middle). Maybe try placing the items to create some more depth, cleanliness and interest. You could also try getting closer to an item in particular, but getting too close may mean focus-stacking, if only of 2 images.
I personally don’t find the dam (railway?) and its line in the river so appealing and would have tried to cover it up with a tree or something in the composition, keeping the line of the river. Easier said than done probably :wink:

1 Like