Foggy Sunrise

Sunrise in Death Valley provided some interesting fog and clouds across the valley. I like the kind of high key, understated colors and look and the mood of the partially obscured peaks.

D810, 70-200mm

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

Harley, this is a beauty! I also love this high key look and the muted colors. The fact that the details are obscured creates a clean simple look. The processing also looks spot on. I can see this one hanging large. No nits from me.

Harley…This is some delicious light! The soft light and fog are for me extremely pleasing. I hope you don’t mind my downloading this image for a crop, but to my eye, the best part of the image is somewhere in the middle. The heaviness of the daker sky at ~40% of the top of the image creates more heaviness or weight that to my eye competes strongly with the beauty and softness of the best part of the scene. Again, I’m no professional, but just my 2 cents. Great scene overall and you’re lucky to have been there to capture it!

1 Like

Harley,

The simple layers are very effective here - more crudely I like the sandwich effect… darker top and bottom with the light in the middle. :slight_smile:

For this one, I’d really like to have been there. I am imagining that the light is much more prominent and dramatic than presented here. I see what is presented as more muted than high key, but I get your distinction. Personally I’d like to see the light emphasized more. But then like I said, I don’t have the reference of being there. Perhaps there was more atmosphere between you and the scene creating the muted effect.

Regardless, still a simple and effectively beautiful scene. I like the pano presentation with perhaps a skosh knocked off the top to better balance the sandwich… lol.

Lon

ps. I’m sure not one of my more coherent critiques… :roll_eyes: