Hollyhocks

I like how hollyhock flowers grow close together. Here I saw how a second plant with different colour was trying to get in on the act in the garden. Only after examining the stacked result did I notice how a beetle had been resting motionless for all the shots, a polite photobomber! Can you spot it?

Specific Feedback Requested

Is it sharp enough as a stack? I’m still a beginner at stacking.

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
D500 +105mm macro lens. 1/500 f8 ISO 400.

9 shots stacked in Zerene Stacker (P Max).

Topaz Denoise (Low Light), slight lowering of highlights, square cropped

2 Likes

Beautiful flowers, Mike. Great detail in each flower and the intruder is just showing off, I think. My eyes are really bad, but is the beetle located in the just under the lowest flower on the left hand side? Just a guess. Nice capture.

You’re spot-on, Linda. My eyes are really bad too, which is why I didn’t notice it till after processing. But I would have left it there anyway.

1 Like

Beautiful flowers, Mike! And I love the photobombing beetle! He was very subtle, but wanted a moment of fame!

This is just lovely!!! Soft light and gorgeous detail on the translucent petals, and I love the one of a different color! The stacking looks perfect to me, and caught the needed DOF so well.

Took me a while to find the beetle – it looks quite natural there.

I wonder about either darkening the lighter areas of BG or lightening the darker ones, so there is not such a difference. I think it would emphasize the subtlety of this gorgeous image.

Mike,

Beautious!

I wonder if it is ever possible to photograph flowers without an insect in the frame. Most of the time I don’t look for them unless they are readily apparent and will make a important contribution to the image.

But flowers and insects are inevitable. Flowers need them and the insects need the flowers. Why should we be surprised?