I´m Holger Mischke, ask me anything

If you’re not an NPN member yet, you can join our free tier to ask questions in the AMA or to get the full benefits of what we offer; you can join here.

I am Holger Mischke. I’m a photographer, a writer and musician. My friend and fellow photographer Toni Lovejoy called me “a natural poet”. I like that, so that is (among other things) what I am for all means and purposes.

I live and I breathe, I listen, I see, I read, I feel and I think, often way too much. And I along with the majority of our population, suffer from depression and anxiety. Sometimes less, sometimes more.

I was a hiking and cycling tour guide, when I started photographing. I didn’t have anyone in my family pass on a camera to my or inspire me in any other way to use photography as a means to express myself. Even when my best friend and roommate at the time but a makeshift darkroom in our apartment’s bathroom, I couldn’t be bothered. It had to go digital before it interested me.
Pretty quickly I found my heroes and they were all long gone. And although it had to be digital photography to get me going, those heroes are Alfred Stieglitz, Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Josef Sudek, Ernst Haas and more. One was alive though and I was lucky enough to have Harold Davis as a mentor and eventually be able to call him a friend.

So my work is exclusively black and white, I use older cameras and oder technology because that is all I need and I don’t feel an image is finished before it is printed, which I do myself. I often combine text and photographs and am trying to do so with music as well.

I believe that life and creativity, be it in photography, literature, music or any other way to express yourself are connected and that you can apply principles and thoughts from one to the other. And this is what I try to show people in my workshops.